Mmmm…saucy

Just imagine them with tiny legs and arms...

Mmmm...tasty tasty apples...

Along with all the ‘gourdy fun‘ this weekend (thanks for coining the phrase Christine)  we also stopped at a nearby orchard.  We didn’t pick our own apples since we tired from our fabulous day in the country.  Well, the myriad insects were decidedly less than fabulous, but I suppose they provided wonderful opportunities for interpersonal bonding via nit picking (think chimps, minus the eating).  I’m assuming there aren’t many exotic diseases spread by the various flying and biting critters of central IL.  Anywho… after careful deliberation I purchased a 1/2 peck of Jonathan apples.  A normal person’s thought process might have gone something like this:

‘Goodness this is rather a large bag of apples…how does one eat this many apples…mayhap I should purchase fewer….why yes, that seems quite right indeed.’

My thought process was more like:

‘Wow!  Apples!!  Yum!! Apples are good!  I like apples!!  Hmmm….I can’t carry a whole peck…oh look….I can totally carry the 1/2’

This is how I came to be the proud owner of roughly 784 ± 1.3 apples.  What does one do with this many apples? Eat them?  Drink them?  Use them as props in denture adhesive commercials?  What if they grow tiny arms and legs and go on the attack before you can use them all (a la Attack of the Killer Tomatoes)?!  Clearly this threat had to be neutralized; I was not about to die an ignominious death at the hands (stems? fangs?!) of  4.404884 L of apples.  Hence the big batch of applesauce I made last week (take that pomaceous terrorists).

Ingredients

About 3 lb. apples

1 c water

about 1/4 c brown sugar (feel free to adjust the amount to your taste)

1/2 t cinnamon

Procedure

  1. Clean, peel, and core the apples, then cut them into approx. 1/2 inch pieces
  2. Add the apples, water, and brown sugar to a saucepan and bring to a boil, stirring occasionally.
  3. Lower the heat, cover the pan, and simmer the apple mixture for 20 minutes, or until the apples are tender.
  4. Remove the cover and simmer the mixture until most of the liquid is evaporated (feel free to crank the heat up here, just be careful to stir frequently if you do so).
  5. Remove from heat and the add cinnamon.
  6. After the mixture is partly cooled either a) for a chunky texture: mash the apples with a fork or potato masher or b) for a smooth texture: puree the apple mixture in a food processor.

Unfortunately I don’t have a picture of the finished product, so I’ll leave you with this final shot…

PA few of my tasty apples.

Just imagine them with tiny arms, legs, and fangs...

3 Comments

Filed under Appetizers, Basics

3 responses to “Mmmm…saucy

  1. Jamie

    Thanks!

    I love how these recipes have “procedures” and not “directions.” You scientist, you! 😉

  2. Sara

    I needed excuse to use my food processor… Plus not making applesauce would be like letting the pomaceous terrorists win.

  3. Jamie

    Made this last weekend and it is goooooood. I added a bit of nutmeg to the recipe and, since I didn’t read correctly, I added the spices prior to cooking. It still turned out just fine. And with tart apples, it was a nice mixture of tart and sweet. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

